Cranberry Chocolate Oatmeal Balls

So food prepping the peanut butter chocolate balls last week was a good idea. Like really good. They were the perfect, chocolate-satisfying dessert that filled me up and kept me from eating all.the.balls. This week I also prepped like a boss, but forgot to take any pictures. Boo.

The main excitement was cooking a whole chicken in the crock pot! Certainly an experience, but one that doesn’t really allow for lots pictures or phone grabbing. Cooking meat (especially a whole chicken) makes me germ-nervous so that took up a majority of my concentration. That, and the fact I was holding a whole raw chicken that felt strangely human like. Urgh. Chef-up, woman!! But, I did it! And now we’ll have shredded chicken for dayzz. I’m planning on using a majority of it for chicken tacos so I followed this recipe, but used taco seasoning and paprika to dress it.

Back to the balls…

This week, I wanted decadent, chocolate-y balls that used cranberries, could serve as a healthy-er dessert and used dates instead of honey. This is what I came up with:

Cranberry Chocolate Oatmeal Balls

makes approx. 7 palm sized ballsDSCN0834

Ingredients:
  • 1 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup dates
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • 1 teaspoon coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup cranberries
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • water, until sticky
Directions:
  1. Place oats in food processor and process until ground into a chunky flour.
  2. Mix coconut oil and chocolate chips in a microwave safe bowl. Microwave in 20 second increments, stirring in between, until fully melted.
  3. Add melted coconut oil/chocolate chip mixture and dates to food processor. Process until well combined.
  4. Stir/loosen any packed parts of the mixture, and resume processing, adding small amounts of water until mixture becomes sticky.
  5. Add cranberries and chia seeds to the food processor and pulse until just combined.
  6. Use your hands to form balls and store in refrigerator or freezer.

Yum.yum.yum.yum! I love these! I hope you do too πŸ™‚

4 responses to “Cranberry Chocolate Oatmeal Balls

  1. Prepping is the key to healthy eating in my book! Great job with the chicken…nice work Cheffing up too…:-)
    Luv u – Momma

  2. Pingback: {WIAW} #2 – All The Oatmeal! | The Engineering Foodie·

  3. Pingback: Murphys Adventure & Food Prep | The Engineering Foodie·

Leave a Reply

