Veggie Meat Muffins

Two nights in a row, whaa whaat!! Go me!

First of all, I took my good friend and co-worker, Molly out to the barn with me tonight! She rode Preston for the first time 🙂 It’s always fun having some company out at the barn! Scooby said “Who is that on my horse!?”

molly ride p and molly scooby

After reading lots of blogs, I decided I wanted a muffin pan. So I got one. What was the first thing I baked in it, you ask – veggie meat muffins. Maybe one day I’ll actually bake stuff, but for now I prefer to spend my calories on cheese rather than muffins.

I got the idea from Instagram, via Lindsey, and was thinking of individually-portioned-meatloaf that conveniently bakes faster while I was making this. It’s kind of an experiment that worked out, but still needs to be refined. Do with it what you will!

Also, they look really ugly. I need to work on that…

Veggie Meat Muffins

DSCN0804

Ingredients:
  • 1 lb of 90-10 ground beef
  • 3/4 cup of “riced” cauliflower
  • 3/4 cup shredded carrots
  • 1 bell pepper, finely chopped
  • 1/2 onion, finely chopped
  • 1 egg, beaten with a splash of milk
  • 1 Tbsp Worcestershire Sauce
  • 2 Tbsp Montreal Steak Seasoning
  • 1 Tbsp Yellow Mustard
  • 2 tsp finely minced garlic
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
Directions:
  1. Mix all ingredients except vegetables and ground beef together.
  2. Add ground beef, cauliflower, carrots, bell pepper and onion to mixture and thoroughly mix with hands.
  3. Portion mixture into muffin tins using a large spoon.
  4. Bake at 425 degrees for 20-25 until middle of muffins is 155 degrees.

2014-01-06 21.29.47

The flavor of these muffins was really nice, I just think the consistency needed to be a little more meatloaf-like. Next time (there will be a next time!!) I will either add breadcrumbs or almond meal to thicken the loaf OR add another egg, because the one I used was teeny-tiny to bind that much stuff. To be continued…

Any other ideas of what I shoulda/coulda/woulda changed?

5 responses to “Veggie Meat Muffins

  1. Pingback: My First {What I Ate Wednesday} | The Engineering Foodie·

  2. These sound yummy! I love the cauliflower! Yes, definitely add bread crumbs ( Panko is great) also maybe try grain or Dijon mustard and a little tomato paste. You could also sauté all the veggies first and let them cool and then mix everything together.

Leave a Reply

