Anniversary Weekend & Hidden Falls

Happy New Years! I hope you all had a wonderful holiday with your loved ones 🙂 Abe, Scooby and I drove down to San Diego and had a great time with my family. But that’s for a later post! For now, I’m playing catch up.

Last week, December 20th, was Abe and my 5 year “anniversary”. (I feel weird calling it an anniversary if we’re not married.) Five years ago we were both very different people: I was shy, overly mature, and kinda unwilling to try new things while he was wild and unfiltered. We had our road bumps while we figured out who we were and what we wanted, but something always kept us together. I have never met someone that balances and stabilizes me as much as he does, and in the past 5 years I have gained so much confidence from his never ending encouragement and support. I can’t wait for our future together and appreciate each and every day spent with him.

Enough with the sap! We decided to celebrate our many years together with a hike! We’ve talked about going to Auburn forever and finally made it there. It did not disappoint!! We hiked/ran to the Hidden Falls late-ish in the afternoon (the light was perfect!) and had a fabulous time. It actually got me thinking about how fun trail-running would be… hmmmm.

Hidden Falls –  Auburn, CA

DSCN0636 DSCN0637 DSCN0642 DSCN0645 DSCN0648 DSCN0652 DSCN0659 DSCN0672 DSCN0674 DSCN0678 DSCN0685 DSCN0688 DSCN0690 DSCN0697

After our maybe 3 mile hike we got SO. HUNGRY. Like grumpy hungry. We tried going to the wrap place I found on Yelp to no avail, so we settled for this janky looking BBQ place. OMG – total find!!!!!!  It was the eating experience we live for. Sketchy parking lot, tiny seating area, Indian owner chef serving BBQ?! Yes, it’s called Smokey Pit Barbeque Texas Style. Amazing – so good – so affordable. Abe and I got beef brisket and pulled pork sandwiches each with two sides and even ordered a drink (which we normally never do) and it rang in less than $20. It was such a small, intimate little restaurant that I couldn’t even bring myself to take a picture of any of it.

This dining experience made my day. It made us realize that no amount of money can really buy an experience like that – a true dining find. And that was the end to our most smile-ridden and cheapest “anniversary” yet. Doesn’t get much better than that 🙂 Read Abe’s Yelp review here.

Stay tuned for holiday recaps and new years stuff!!

Leave a Reply

