Adventure Weekend in Ridgecrest

This weekend Abe, James and I went on a 6 hour roadtrip to visit our good friends Sonja and Dan. I worked with Sonja and James (who drove us) in the EFL throughout my undergrad, and they just recently graduated in June. Upon graduation Sonja and Dan purchased a house in Ridgecrest, CA and we FINALLY had an opportunity (3 day weekend, woot woot!) to go visit them!! And what a weekend we had…

They have several acres in Ridgecrest and this is the view from their front yard – so gorgeous! They are completely surrounded by mountains

0

View from the backyard at sunset1 2

My favorite โค3

Friday Night

We got to their house late late Friday night and had some good talks in their hottub before going to bed. Some silly pictures were also taken…

4 5

lol, I’m not the best with silly faces

Saturday

On Saturday we woke up, ate breakfast at home and headed to the Trona Pinnacles. Lots of fun exploration!!!!!

6 7 8 9 10.5 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 20 21.5 21 22 23 24 25

Then it was time for a nap while Dan and James went on a dirt bike ride. I love a good afternoon nap ๐Ÿ˜€ Soon it was time for dinner. We had smoked tri tip sandwiches (SO.GOOD.) and the creepiest cake I’ve ever seen (light added for effect). The dogs were no help at all, but they sure enjoyed the table scraps!
26 27 28 29 30 31

Sunday

We headed home Sunday afternoon after going out to breakfast at Kristy’s Family Restaurant. I got a nice spinach omelette with hash browns! I haven’t had those in forever! We also got some fried banana bread and it was delicious.ย  You can tell I was having a fabulous time all weekend because I forgot to take pictures of almost everything we ate. Oh well, I have the memoriessss!

We started getting hungry about 2 hours away from Davis, so Abe hopped on Yelp and found a really good restaurant on our route, Papa Urb’s Grillย (“Filipino food with a twist”).ย Did you know Filipino is spelled with an “F”????? I definitely did not… live and learn!ย The sisig (see-sig) was supposedly really good and boy was it ever!!!!!!!! This was a delicious meal. No words. So good. I’ve found the best dining experiences are the ones you simply stumble upon. We knew going in to it that this restaurant was good according to people on Yelp, but it was still a mystery to us. I will remember this meal for a long time – good food, low prices and great company! You can see Abe’s Yelp review of it here.
2013-11-10 20.00.06 2013-11-10 20.01.06

Beautiful sunset on the way home. What a great weekend ๐Ÿ™‚ I love my friends!

32Thank you Dan and Sonja for having us, and a BIG thank you to James, who drove BOTH ways!!!

One response to “Adventure Weekend in Ridgecrest

Leave a Reply

