Busy Saturday!

Phew! Its been quite the day of errands, but  the best kind of errands! 🙂 Abe was off taking the LSAT today, so I was free to grocery shop at all of our uncommon grocery stores.

But first, Scooby and I went for a wonderful run. Almost three miles with three different stops:

  1. 10 push ups, 20 knee push ups, 20 lunges
  2. (x2) 15 squats, 15 box jumps, 10 elevated push ups
  3. 10 push ups, 20 knee push ups, 20 lunges

After the box jumps, my stride got so flat. And on the third stop, my arms gave out.  Its nice to know there’s always room for improvement 🙂

Then, off to shopping!! I started at Pedrick’s Produce and just went crazy. I got:

  • Nectarines
  • Apples
  • Plums
  • Sweet Potatoes
  • A Cantaloupe
  • Zucchini
  • Lemons
  • Grapes
  • Tomatoes
  • Tortillas!! Splurge!!

2013-10-05 11.32.02

All for $30! Such a good deal. I then stopped off at the Farmer’s Market to get 2 dozen eggs from Vega Farms, and at Whole Foods to get Apple Cider Vinegar. I’ve heard a lot about ACV and have been meaning to try it. After reading an article on Eating Bird Food about its health benefits I decided this was the week it was going to become a part of our household. In order to get all the health benefits, the ACV must be raw and contain the “mother” which I was unable to find at Trader Joe’s so I finally made my way over to Whole Foods. I’ll keep you updated as I continue to take it each day. Some potential benefits of taking it daily include: clearer skin, improved digestion, warding off sickness and weight loss. source Sign me up!! But based on my first drink, its not very palatable haha, this may be more difficult than predicted…

2013-10-05 12.57.26After that I headed to Costco. I decided I wanted Costco-sized peanut butter since we’ve been eating it so much… talk about scaling up.

2013-10-05 12.48.56I figure if we don’t like it, we can donate the second one in the package to a food bank. Its worth the risk! We’ve been eating close to one full TJ’s jar of PB per week!! That’s a lot.

I also got some canned chicken, oatmeal (split with the roommates), green juice splurge!, 4 lbs (!!) of quinoa and feta cheese.

2013-10-05 12.44.51Can you ever have too much cheese?? I feel like I’m approaching that swiftly. I try to limit the number of cheeses in the house (because I love, love, LOVE cheese) and somehow that number multiplied in the last week. I’m not really complaining…

2013-10-05 12.51.01

 

Off to ride Preston, get my haircut and then have a fancy, celebratory dinner at Bandera since Abe is done with the LSAT!! Woo hoo!

Enjoy your Saturday!! 🙂

 

 

 

2 responses to “Busy Saturday!

  1. Pingback: Monday Meal Plan: Week #4 | The Engineering Foodie·

  2. Pingback: Calm Before the (Adventure) Storm | The Engineering Foodie·

Leave a Reply

