Spaghetti Zucchini

Two very difficult words to spell, all in one dish. So you may have seen my Zucchini Noodles in Week of #2 of meal planning, and today I will show you the magic device that made them!

2013-09-10 20.24.46

love my Paderno World Cuisine Vegetable Slicer! Its a creative and interesting way to eat vegetables AND a decent alternative to conventional pasta! Plus, its kind of fun 😀 I like to think of it as a “food lathe” haha I know, I know, such the engineer.

I am certainly not gluten-free, carb-free or otherwise, but when I eat pasta I do try to eat whole grain… buuuut the last time I ate whole grain spaghetti it really hurt my stomach. I’ve had zero interest in buying any kind of pasta since then. I’ll order it when we go out but I much prefer these veggie noodles to any kind of healthier starch.

What makes this spiral vegetable slicer so special is that it makes long continuous noodles. They are so long and continuous, in fact, that I end up having to cut them while serving because they just never end! I haven’t figured out an easier way to make sure they’re all of moderate length yet, but I’m working on it. Maybe cutting the strands short every so often while they’re being cut? I’ll give it a try next time. For now, I’ll just suffer trying to get insanely long noodles in to a bowl.

2013-09-10 20.21.20

So you spin away on the slicer, and you get these beautiful, long, even noodles to play with! I like to use a plastic bag to get an even coat of flavor and seasoning on the noodles. Starting with base of olive oil, I’ll add some crushed garlic, salt, pepper and TJ’s Everyday Seasoning to a Ziploc bag and shake to coat evenly. I like to prepare these noodles the Sunday before (just for convenience) so mine end up “marinating” for a couple days. I think a good shake and a couple minutes to soak up the olive oil should do the trick.

2013-09-10 20.30.22I typically bake mine in the oven at 350 degrees for about twenty minutes, or until they reach desired consistency. We prefer softer veggies, but if you like them a little crunchier just don’t cook them as long! Nothing raw and dangerous here, so cook time is really just a preference!

Once they’ve been cooked, I like to top them with a good marinara sauce, some goat cheese or feta, and some goood meatballs!! Yum 🙂

2013-09-19 21.07.37

Spaghetti Zucchini

Ingredients: (per serving, multiply to serve more than 1)

  • 1 1/2 whole zucchini
  • 1 Tbsp minced or crushed garlic
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • TJ’s Everyday Seasoning to taste

Directions:

  1. Wash zucchini and cut off ends.
  2. Slice using the Paderno Wold Cuisine Vegetable Slicer’s noodle blade.
  3. Add all ingredients to a Ziploc bag and shake to coat evenly. Let sit for at least 5 minutes.
  4. Spread noodles onto a baking sheet. Ensure there is enough room that noodles create a thin layer.
  5. Bake at 350º for approximately 20 minutes, depending on desired crunchiness.
  6. Serve with sauce and toppings of your choice!

What is your favorite type of noodle?

Leave a Reply

