Apple Cinnamon Oats

Most people run with their dogs. Me? I run with my dog AND my horse!! Nothing makes me happier than running with my two black-and-white boys under a beautiful sunset.

PhotoGrid_1379475261261

We head out on the “ditch” across the street from our barn. Its basically the easement between the two irrigation ditches that water the fields. Its nice- relatively soft dirt, beautiful scenery and so peaceful.  Over the past two weeks of running, I’ve realized that, when in the right frame of mind, I really enjoy running. I guess I would consider it to be more “frolicking” rather than exercising which I’m sure helps!

I’ve been putting my large amount of apples to good use! Each morning I microwave a big bowl of diced apples and add it to my oats with cinnamon and honey. Yum! This week I made my oats with yogurt! I still didn’t use measuring utensils, but I found an approximate ratio that gets the consistency I like:

Add in 1/2 cup oats and 1 tbsp of chia seeds per serving. Add enough milk to cover oats and chia seeds and 1 large spoonful of regular yogurt per serving. Shake thoroughly and refrigerate overnight.

For instructions on how to make Lazily-made overnight oats, click here.

I, of course, was running late this morning so took my breakfast to go. I happened to find some remnants (all the healthy parts, like almonds :P) of trail mix so I threw that into the mix as well. It added some nice crunch!2013-09-17 07.42.48

Apple Cinnamon Oats

Ingredients:

  • Overnight Oats (made with yogurt)
  • 1 apple, diced
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • honey to taste

Directions:

  1. Microwave diced apples for 1.5 minutes to warm and soften.
  2. Mix warm apples into overnight oats and top with cinnamon and honey. Enjoy!

Tomorrow I’m heading to the Inside 3D Printing Conference and Expo in San Jose to learn about the up and coming rapid prototyping technology. The UC Davis Engineering Fabrication Laboratory got our 3D printer 2 years ago this summer and the technology has advanced so much in that time. To learn more about our printer, watch this YouTube video I’m in!!

Maybe my day at the Expo will inspire the first engineering post on The Engineering Foodie! 😉

2 responses to “Apple Cinnamon Oats

  1. Awww seeing this makes me miss the Davis Farmers market so much…and I miss you and your experimental cooking!! I have a couple of friends here who are super into healthy eating/cooking. I will definitely direct them to your blog. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

