On the Menu: Lazily-Made Overnight Oats

Time for breakfast!

When I wake up in the morning, I literally have forty minutes to throw  on clothes, take care of Scooby, eat and bike to work. I can get away with this insanity by prepping both my breakfast and lunch the night before. Overnight oats have been a huge time-saver and I’ve actually found that I prefer the consistency of overnight oats to that of microwaved oats. I also find that when I try to microwave oatmeal in the morning, it ends up exploding in the microwave doubling my prep/clean up time. I’ve even tried covering the bowl and it still explodes… I don’t know what I’m doing wrong! Anyways, I love overnight oats and I’m glad my disastrous efforts lead me to them. They are perfect in the summer when it is just too dang hot!!

2013-09-09 07.33.27

I found a lot of recipes for overnight oats on-the-go involving individually portioned mason jars. They are oh-so cute and colorful, but have a shorter shelf life (and involve more prep work) than I prefer. What I’ve found works for me is making a plain batch and switching up the toppings throughout the week! Most days I heat up some frozen berries and mix that in to the cold oats, and boy does it hit the spot. Other days I’ll add some peanut butter, banana or Nutella into the mix. It does eliminate the “grab-and-go” aspect of the typical overnight oats, but I find it to be a more reliable (aka easier to make on Sunday nights and  just be done with it for the week) option than having to make 4 different recipes in 4 different jars each week. Just personal preference! The recipe can be made individually in containers with all the ingredients and toppings mixed for a grab-and-go breakfast, if preferred.

2013-09-08 22.48.29

This is all it takes to make “plain ole’ oats”!

Today we’ll talk about the berry oatmeal. I start by prepping 4 days worth of plain ole’ oats on Sunday. I know that I won’t be able to eat the same exact breakfast every day of the week (whether I get bored or just am running late) so I only make 4 days worth. You can always make more during the week if you need to!

The way make it…

An old 24 oz pickle jar (that has been thoroughly washed many times!) seems to hold just the right amount for me. I normally consider 1/2 cup of dry oats and 1 tbsp of chia seeds to be one serving. I add my dry ingredients (just chia seeds and Old Fashioned oatmeal) and then add enough milk to cover. Give it a shake and check to make sure that the oatmeal and chia seeds are sufficiently submerged. Does it get any easier than that?

The correct way to make it…

Just milk and oatmeal will create a chewy, but somewhat drier consistency than your average overnight oat recipe. Most recipes call for some sort of yogurt to make the oats smooth and creamy. I used to make my plain batch of oatmeal with oats, chia seeds, milk and yogurt (all measured out) but just found it to make too big of a mess! Seriously?! How lazy can I be?? I just didn’t like getting the two different types of measuring cups dirty! 😛 Now, I just add Greek yogurt in the morning.

Stay tuned for the measured recipe…
 

Bottom Line

If you’re a guess-timator like me, be comforted in the fact that there is really no wrong way to make overnight oats! Nothing is going to be undercooked or get you sick… you might just need to play around with your proportions to get your desired oatmeal consistency.

2013-09-09 07.33.40

Lazily-Made Berry Overnight Oats

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup Old Fashioned oats
  • 1 tbsp Chia Seeds
  • Enough milk (any type will do) to cover the mixture (Depends on desired consistency… I normally add equal parts milk to oats, so approx. 1/2 cup)
  • 1/2 cup frozen or fresh berries (Gotta love TJ’s 🙂 )
  • 2 spoonfuls cup Greek Yogurt (Amount depends on preference. Same with flavor – I normally use Honey Greek Yogurt)
  • Honey to taste

Directions:

  1. The night before, prepare overnight oats: mix oats, chia seeds and milk in a jar and leave in refrigerator overnight.
  2. In the morning, microwave frozen berries. 
  3. Spoon out 1 cup of Lazily-made Overnight Oats and top with Greek Yogurt, berries and honey.
  4. Enjoy!
2013-09-09 07.38.39

Mmm! Pretty colors AND tasty!!

What is your favorite grab-and-go breakfast??

One response to “On the Menu: Lazily-Made Overnight Oats

  1. Pingback: Apple Cinnamon Oats | The Engineering Foodie·

Leave a Reply

