On the Menu: The Easiest Chicken Tortilla Soup

In celebration of the day off, I decided to make dinner for my housemates! Crockpots are a great option for large meals on a budget, and feeding three of these hungry dudes requires LARGE meals. My grandma is a huge lover of slow cookers so she gave me one for Christmas a couple years ago along with a couple of recipes. My favorite recipe was on the menu last night– the easiest slow-cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup!

2013-09-02 20.14.08

I love this recipe because its SO GOOD, cheap and easyyy! All it takes is frozen chicken and 7 cans. We already had the chicken, so all I needed were the cans. I used more diced tomatoes and salsa than the recipe calls for (because I prepared 3 chicken breasts instead of two- hungry, hungry boys) so I technically had 8 cans instead of 7, but my total at the super market was still only $11. Can’t beat feeding 4 big eaters dinner plus having 3 lunches leftover for approximately $15.

2013-09-02 14.44.17

The can carnage!

I also found some corn tortillas in the freezer so I decided to follow Fit Foodie Finds‘ recipe for DIY Baked Tortilla Chips. It was an interesting learning experience with the Broil function in my oven… apparently it does not Broil evenly. But it was an adventure, and only a couple chips had to be sacrificed! The boys loved them, as did I, but they didn’t have to watch the oven like a hawk making sure that the tortillas didn’t burn.

2013-09-02 20.07.50

Semi-homemade corn tortilla chips

In the end, the meal was fantastic and it got rave reviews from the roomies! (Hopefully that means they’ll graciously do the dishes 🙂 ) If you’re a college student looking for an easy way to make large, cheap meals, I would highly recommend investing in a CrockPot.

The Easiest Chicken Tortilla Soup

Ingredients:

  • 2 chicken breasts, defrosted
  • 2 15 oz cans black beans, undrained
  • 2 15 oz cans Mexican-style diced tomatoes
  • 1 cup salsa
  • 1 8 oz can tomato sauce
  • 1 15 oz can of whole corn

Optional Toppings:

  • Greek yogurt
  • Shredded cheddar cheese
  • Tortilla chips

2013-09-02 19.54.35

Directions:

  1. Place chicken in CrockPot. Dump all contents of cans (except the corn) into the CrockPot.
  2. Cook on high for 4 hours.
  3. After 3 hours, remove chicken breasts from CrockPot and pull apart using two forks. After shredding, return chicken to CrockPot for last hour.
  4. Add the can of corn just before serving.
  5. Serve with grated cheese and tortilla chips on top, if desired.
  6. Enjoy!

2013-09-02 20.14.22

What’s your favorite slow-cooker recipe?

2 responses to “On the Menu: The Easiest Chicken Tortilla Soup

  1. Pingback: My Pledge to Run | The Engineering Foodie·

Leave a Reply

